Our Lady of Peace School

School Advisory Council

2016-2017 School Advisory Council

Mission Statement

Our Lady of Peace School Advisory Council is visionary in the development of school policy that is based on the Catholic Church’s values and beliefs. The ultimate goal of the school board is to nurture the whole child by cultivating lifelong Catholic faith, promoting academic excellence in which a lifetime search for knowledge is instilled, and encouraging the social and physical development of each child so they can become better contributing members of our global society.


The School Advisory Council assists the pastor and the principal in the governance of the parish school. It is consultative in nature and has responsibility in the following areas: planning, finance, public relations, policy development, building and grounds, and selection of the principal. Membership is comprised of six elected members, an appointed financial officer , the pastor and principal, and up to three appointed members.

Michael VerebPresidentmichael.vereb@gmail.com814-881-9899
John KnoxVice Presidentwjknox@knoxlegaladvisors.com814-835-9005
Karen WeltonSecretaryrnkwelton@msn.com814-835-6971
Mark TarasovitchBoard Membermarde315@yahoo.com814-835-3871
LaVaughn BuchananBoard Memberlbuchanan@tmgattys.com814-833-6301
Dr. Joan CarlburgBoard Memberjcarlburg@roadrunner.com814-838-3069
Kenneth KensillBoard Memberkennethkensill@yahoo.com814-835-4565

Ex-Officio Members

Jim GwinnFinancial Officejimgwinn@gmail.com814-835-4570
Mary Beth EkPrincipal mbek@olpcrusaders.org814-838-3548
Fr. Matt KujawinskiPastorfr.matt@olp.org814-833-7701
  • School Advisory Council meetings are typically held at 7 p.m. on the third Thursday of each month (except July and December) in the Faculty Dining Room.
  • All meetings are open unless otherwise noted.
  • If you wish to address the Board please contact the President or Principal for further information.
  • See The INFO for any changes and specific meeting dates.